Premium Pricing is simple:

Premium Donut subscriptions are based on the number of users receiving content from Donut. We only bill you for active users, and you're in control of how many active users are in Donut.

Who counts as an active user?

Active users are defined as all Donut channel members, plus any Premium admins, and all users scheduled to receive content via Donut in Slack from Premium Templates. So each person receiving content from Donut (regardless of role) counts as an active user.

Note: Donut only counts admins and teammates receiving Donut messages as users, NOT necessarily everyone in your Slack workspace.

What does that mean for my company?

Premium pricing scales with the number of users you add to Donut each month in Donut channels and templates, so the monthly price increases as usage increases. Your team's price will vary based on your number of active channels, length of templates, number of people involved in those templates, etc.

You can go to your billing page for an active user count and see when it changes in real-time.

🛠 Mental math is hard: Use our pricing calculator to make an estimate of how many active users you'll have.

Why is Donut's Premium plan priced this way?

Hiring rates and engagement programs ebb and flow, and processes change over time. We get it!

We designed our pricing with that in mind by aligning cost with the value you get from using Donut, rather than just the size of your company.

Our usage-based pricing structure takes into account your hiring rate, number of people participating in Donut channels, and the robustness of your templates and connections programs, to deliver a price that correlates with the ROI you’ll see.

How does our pricing change as the number of people receiving content from Donut changes?

We only charge you for your active users (more info on what that means below).

Need more info? Here are a few FAQs…

How long will I be charged for each user?

You'll only pay for users that are active. We consider an "active" user to be anyone that is scheduled to receive a message in the future. For example, a new hire is scheduled to receive a 90-day survey as their last Donut message, you would no longer be charged for that new hire after the message is sent.

Or, say someone is in a Donut channel scheduled to receive an intro or watercooler message. We consider them an active user in that channel.

How do you know how much to charge?


We automatically detect the number of active users in Donut and charge you each month (you can also select annual billing for a discount). You won't have to lift a finger or a calculator. In fact, we have one for you right here.

How does Premium differ from Free or Standard?

Premium allows you to build more customized workflows and targeted intros. So you can do things like:

  • start a buddy system

  • send 30/60/90-day check-in reminders for managers

  • build a more robust mentorship program with longterm messaging and check-ins

  • create an unlimited amount of fully customizable templates and messages

  • add stakeholders beyond just buddy and manager (for instance, mentors, IT, recruiters, etc.)

  • send pre-boarding content to managers and other stakeholders

  • create role, department, or geo-specific onboarding paths so that, for example, an engineer in London would receive different content than a marketer in NYC

Does the cost of Donut Premium include pairings?

Yes. If you subscribe to Premium, you'll be able to access all of the features included with Standard. Participants in Pairing channels will be counted as active users in addition to any users in Premium Templates.

Did this answer your question?